News

New grant
more »

Discussion panel
more »

Conference "Language – Culture – Literature: East African Perspective"
more »

Africa Days 2019
more »

news archive »

SALC Journal

more information »

Staff

Head of the Department

Beata Wójtowicz, Ph.D., adiunkt

e-mail: b.wojtowicz@uw.edu.pl

Specialization: Swahili language, lexicography

Contact language: English

Lecturing: Swahili language, Swahili literature, linguistics, information technology.

 

Professors

Nina Pawlak, Ph.D., professor

e-mail: n.pawlak@uw.edu.pl

Tel. +48 22 55 20 357 (Office)

Research specialization: Hausa, comparative Chadic studies, African Linguistics, African languages and cultures

 

Assistant Professors

Iwona Kraska-Szlenk, Ph.D., adiunkt

e-mail: i.kraska@uw.edu.pl

Specialization: Swahili language, African and general linguistics

Contact language: English

Lecturing: Swahili language, grammar and literature; African and general linguistics

 

Ewa Siwierska, Ph.D., adiunkt

Specialization: Hausa literature written in ajami

Contact language: English

Lecturing: Hausa language, editing and textology.

 

Hanna Rubinkowska-Anioł, Ph. D., adiunkt

e-mail: hrubinkowska@yahoo.com

Specialization: history of Ethiopia

Contact languages: English, Russian

Lecturing: history of Africa, history of Ethiopia.
 

Małgorzata Szupejko, Ph.D., adiunkt

e-mail: szupejko@gmail.com

 

Zuzanna Augustyniak, Ph.D., adiunkt

e-mail: z.augustyniak@uw.edu.pl

Specialization: Ethiopia

Contact languages: English 

 

Sabina Brakoniecka, Ph.D., adiunkt

e-mail: s.brakoniecka@gmail.com

Specialization: Nigeria

Contact languages: English

 

Marcin Krawczuk, Ph. D., adiunkt

e-mail: mkrawczuk@uw.edu.pl

Specialization: Amharic language, Ethiopian literature in Ge'ez language

Contact languages: English

Lecturing: basic and advanced Amharic course, Islam in Christianity in Ethiopia.

 

Izabela Will, Ph.D., adiunkt

e-mail:  i.will@uw.edu.pl

Specialization: Hausa language and African art

Contact language: English

Lecturing: basic and advanced Hausa courses, African art, language and intercultural communication.
 

Ewa Wołk, Ph.D., adiunkt

e-mail: ewawolk@hotmail.com

Specialization: Amharic language and literature

Contact language: English

Lecturing: basic and advanced Amharic course, Ethiopian literature in Amharic.

 

Maria Piotrowska, M.A., assistant

e-mail: maria.j.piotrowska@gmail.coom

 

Lecturers

dr Ashenafi Yonas Abebe

Lecturing: practical Amharic

John Martin Okoth

e-mail: jaduong@wp.pl

Lecturing: practical Swahili

 

Librarians

Iwona Bebrysz